Wednesday, October 31, 2007

The 1st Annual 2007 Appetizer Awards

We play a lot of music every year, and we decided to award some of these great artists for their hard work and putting out delicious music. Six nominees in seven categories will compete for this year's Golden Fork awards, to be announced in December. In November, we'll hear the nominees and give you the listener the chance to vote in the winners. If you want to submit a vote, email D Grant for an official ballot ( The following is the nominees:

Best Song
The Killers-On Top, Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs-Run To Me, Dashboard Confessional-Stolen, Further Seems Forever- Light Up Ahead (acoustic), Mana-Arrancame El Corazon, The Hint-The Antidote

Best New Song (from 2007)
The Bleeding Alarm- Sorrows the Sea of My Heart, Flatfoot 56-Pay Me A Dollar, Ingrid Michaelson-Far Away, Sandi Thom-Superman, New Found Glory-Hold My Hand, Mat Kearney-Renaissance

Best New Artist
Sandi Thom, William Fitzsimmons, Circa Survive, Bess Rogers, Eric Hutchinson, Flatfoot 56

Best New Album (from 2006-2007)
Mana-Amar Es Combatir, Sandi Thom-Smile....It Confuses People, Circa Survive-On Letting Go, Ingrid Michaelson-Girls and Boys, Bess Rogers-Decisions Based On Information, Brandi Carlile-Brandi Carlile

Best International Artist
Missy Higgins (Australia), Mana (Mexico), Lisa Mitchell (Australia), Damien Rice (Ireland), Usra Leedham (France), Les Nubians (France)

Best Cover Song
Honeywagon-When I Come Around (originally by Green Day), Ben Lee-Float On (originally by Modest Mouse), Emery-All I Want (originally by Toad the Wet Sprocket), New Found Glory-Stay (originally by Lisa Loeb), Greg Laswell-Girls Just Want To Have Fun (originally by Cyndi Lauper), Emma Burgess-Your Love (originally by the Outfield)

Best Abilene Artist
Homer Hiccolm & The Rocketboys, Tony Barker, Jamison Priest, Lane Frizell, Revolution, O Scarlet

You can also write in your choice if it's not one of the nominees. Winners are based on ballot votes, so request yours now.

No comments: